Tuesday, April 15, 2008

Patronize The KP Zoos

Last night's IBA TV news showed how the cows are eating Kosher for Pesach food, so the milk won't be tainted with chametz. Do they do that in chutz l'Aretz?

Will the super-traif chometzdik restaurants look for chametz-tainted milk, too?

Another thing to check is that the zoo you visit isn't feeding chametz to the animals.

Now, back to the kitchen for cleaning. This isn't a salaried job, you know. I wish!!

6 comments:

Anonymous said...

Will the super-traif chometzdik restaurants look for chametz-tainted milk, too?

LOL. Reminds me of the joke about El Al flight attendants announcing at mealtime: "Will the passengers who requested treif meals please identify yourselves to the cabin attendants?"

Batya said...

We must find the humor wherever it's hiding.

We're living on the stage in theatre of the absurd.

Anonymous said...

In chutz la'aretz we buy our milk before Pesach starts for this reason. Apparently any chametz that got into the milk from the cow eating chametz is considered batel if you buy your milk before Pesach. Not sure why.

Batya said...

The handling of KP things is different before Pesach, and that's probably the source. In Israel you have "Erev Pesach Kosher l"Pesach" dairy, which must be related to your example.

But the idea that your milk is supposed to stay fresh so long, means that there are lots of additives.

Unknown said...

It's not a matter of the chametz getting into the milk from the cow that is the point. We are not allowed to use chametz at all on Pesach. The question of the milk deals with the additives that are put into the milk (such as the added vitamin D). If the additive is chametz, and it is added before Pesach, then it can be considered bateil. The reason is that when it was added, it was completely permissible. During Pesach, the additive is asur be'hana'a (completely forbidden to use or provide benefit in any way). Thus, if it is added to the milk (not eaten by the cow) during Pesach it can never become bateil.


That is why there is kosher lePesach milk shipped direct from the farm without chametz additives. I have spoken with farmers who did not understand what the Rabbi was doing that made milk "kosher" because of this.

Batya said...

thanks for the info

The news I saw on TV said that the cows would be fed non-Chametz food, at least that's what happens in Israel.